Awaiting Fall | Feeling Basic & Proud

My favorite time of year is just around the corner-fall! I’ve got the total basic girl thing going on when it comes to this season and all things pumpkin spice. I’m basic and proud!  So as the temperatures dip into the low 70s this week I’m skipping around here awaiting Autumn in my glory. Don’t hate–I even scored a pumpkin spice creamer already at Target.

Perks of your father-in-law owning his own farmstand, you get blueberries by the box! After freezing multiple bags for breads and smoothies I decided to make some baked oatmeal. I found this recipe which I modified from Nutmeg Nanny.

Baked Blueberry Oatmeal

INGREDIENTS

2 cups old fashioned rolled oats

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups milk

1 large egg

1 tablespoon unsalted butter – melted

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/3 cup maple syrup

1 banana – cut into 1/2 slices

1 1/2 cup blueberries

DIRECTIONS 

Preheat oven 375 degrees. Butter 8×8 dish and cover bottom with banana slices. Then sprinkle 3/4 cup blueberries over top bananas and set aside. In medium bowl mix together oats, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Stir to combine. In another bowl beat together milk, egg, butter, vanilla, and maple syrup. Add oats to dish and gently pour milk mixture over oats. Sprinkle the top with blueberries and cook in oven for 35 to 45 minutes until the top is golden brown and the oatmeal is set. If desired, drizzle the top with more maple syrup.

IMG_5062

IMG_5063

Emelia patiently waited for the oatmeal to be done and she loved it! She actually ate it two mornings in a row so it is definitely a recipe I will make again. I’m not a huge fan of bananas so next time I actually will leave out the bananas and add more blueberries. A perfect fall recipe! YUM!

Another one of our favorites at our house is Stonyfield “Yotoddler” yogurt. On days I can barely get this kid to eat lunch she will always eat a yogurt! As you can see she’s getting really good with that spoon-

(it was also necessary for her too have about 20 stickers on her shirt that day).

IMG_5134

IMG_5139 IMG_5142

The only thing I don’t particularly care for this time of year-football-yes you heard that right-I don’t like football. Fantasy Football if were being honest- which is in full effect as of this week. My husband had his annual draft here so off I went with my sweat pea and my mama for a Baker’s Square date! Emelia picked one of her favorite foods, pancakes- and I enjoyed some catch up time with my mom while my hubby was giddy at home over his draft picks!

FullSizeRender-82 FullSizeRender-83

How cute are these two? One good thing about football season– I get some extra girl time in with my favorites to do all sorts of basic girl things!

BRING ON THOSE PUMPKIN SPICE LATTES !

xo,

Kate

2 thoughts on “Awaiting Fall | Feeling Basic & Proud

Leave a Reply

