Estate Sale DIY & Small Business Spotlight

A few months back, my mom called  about an estate sale. We purchased a large hutch which I had plans to put in my dining room- but I also purchased a buffet that day just in case.

As the remodel process started I leaned less toward using that hutch and more toward this piece instead, and I’m so glad I did!

IMG_0459

We spent a few weeks with my mom as they did drywall repairs, plumbing repairs, painted, and replaced floors in our new home. During that time I was able to work on that DIY piece in her garage where we left our estate finds

(thanks for being our storage unit mom).

I’ve blogged before about Rethunk Junk paint and how much I love it. I wanted to do something a little different with this piece and also try out some of their other products.

I opted for the paint color Slate this time.

And, because the top of the buffet was in almost perfect condition, I decided to try  “Stain Top” to naturally darken the top of the piece for some contrast.

IMG_0461

I used everything pictured above. You can use any cheap paint brush and  can purchase these staining pads at any local hardware store. The only items I did not include in this photo were my sanding pads for distressing and  Rethunk Junk’s “Tough Top” to keep the top of the buffet protected.

I started by removing the hardware and metal piece off the buffet.

Following this– I cleaned it and wiped it down with “The Prep”

 (pictured above)

 I  just use any old cleaning rag.

Next was the fun part, I began the painting process. This paint is SO easy to work with and there is no smell which I love! I am the messiest painter so if I can do this honestly anyone can. I used 2-3 coats of paint to finish this piece(some areas I wanted more coverage than others).

As the paint dried I started with the “Stain Top”. This stuff is AMAZING! I actually applied 4 coats  to the top of this piece letting it completely dry in between coats. You can do this with as little or as many coats as you want based on your color preference you are trying to achieve for your wood.

After allowing my final coat to dry I applied the Tough Top using two coats total, also make sure to allow this to dry completely in between coats.

IMG_0785

After the buffet was completely dry I started the distressing process. I used a medium grit sanding sponge and distressed corners and edges to achieve my desired look.

The knobs were purchased from Hobby Lobby and were on sale for 50% off.  I still probably spent $25-$30 on the hardware when I think about it, but I put so much time and effort into this piece I really wanted something nice to finish it.

IMG_0783

 I love the look of this piece! It’s the perfect blend of “old- turned -new” and sleek, natural wood for our dining room!

IMG_0782

I’m not paid to use Retunk Junk, and I do not get any discounts or anything special for using this paint or blogging about their products. This is strictly a product I believe in and will use over and over again because of the quality and results I get while using it.

A very dear friend of mine is also one of their suppliers, and as a small business start up myself,  I choose to support her by purchasing this paint  from her small business, Est. 1964.

Mj, owner of Est. 1964 is someone I’ve been blessed to come to know  and has helped and guided me in more ways than just my home projects.

I am so proud of her as she begins this next chapter of opening her very own storefront location in Crown Point with her daughter Kristen.

Mink64-a retail shop featuring trendy women’s clothing and repurposed home goods located at 120 S. Main Street in downtown Crown Point opening this Friday, November 27!

Please come experience an incredibly, talented mother/daughter duo go after their hopes and dreams as they open the doors to their store and pick yourself up some Rethunk Junk for all those DIY pieces you’ve been putting off creating!

xo,

Kate

Visit Est. 1964 on Facebook

Visit mink: HERE 

mink64

120 S. Main Street

Crown Point, IN 46307

Leave a Reply

