24 Day Challenge Experience/Recipes

This is a log I kept for my first 24 Day Challenge with Advocare. It’s pretty lengthly as it contains every meal / snack I ate as well as recipes I used during my challenge. I am in no way a nutritional expert or an expert with Advocare. This is simply a log of my journey I kept.  I have continued to eat this way post challenge with success!

Day 1

I was a total skeptic of this program, I gave the Spark a try the first morning in the back of my mind telling myself I still was going to drink my coffee if I didn’t like it. I was surprised to find that I actually liked Spark !
My challenge came with the Mango Strawberry packs so every morning I would have that with breakfast and it was very similar to drinking an orange juice. It has continued to be my favorite so far 4 months later and I continue to drink this every morning.
I have totally given up coffee [AT HOME] post challenge. I do drink typically 1 iced coffee a day or every other day when I’m not doing a challenge.
Breakfast 7:00-8:00 AM
-Fiber drink (disgusting, but suck it up and just drink it)
-One egg with hot sauce and a banana.
( I laugh at myself for this one egg now. But I had no clue what I was doing. Thank goodness for an amazing coach who was there for me to communicate with my entire challenge who told me to eat 2-3 eggs in the morning if that is what I was choosing for breakfast. )
Snack 9:30-10:30 AM
pretty much 90% of the time my morning snack was my meal replacement shake. This was a common time for me to be in the car. Whether I was out seeing patients or running errands with my toddler, it was the quickest, easiest way to get a nutritious snack in for the morning. 
Lunch 12:30-1:30
-1 cup Brown Rice with Quinoa
IMG_1769.JPG
(These are from Costco and come in the heat and serve bags, I can get two meals out of them usually and they are so flavorful and great for a few days at a time. )
-1 cup steamed broccoli
-1 cup roasted sweet potatoes
IMG_2794
Slice sweet potatoes to your liking. Sprinkle with your favorite spices ( I use onion powder and pepper or cinnamon typically). Bake at 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until potatoes are slightly soft. Again, these are great to reheat for the week. 
Snack 2:30-3:30
I didn’t snack this first day. I tried to snack twice a day throughout the challenge, but I did have days where I let the business of life take over. I truly believe eating 5 times a day retrained my  metabolism and helped me to lose weight so I make a conscious effort to try do this–but again–I’m human and forget sometimes.  
Dinner 5:30-6:30
                                         On occasion I eat dinner after 7, but I really try not to.
Baked chicken fajitas with onion and peppers
(no tortilla this meal)
FullSizeRender-104
Recipe:
3-4 raw chicken breasts cut into small pieces
1 red pepper sliced into strips
1 yellow pepper sliced into strips
1 onion chopped
Drizzle olive oil and sprinkle taco seasoning over chicken, onions, and peppers
Stir well
Bake at 400 degrees uncovered for 25-30 minutes
The chicken fajitas are great and are picky husband approved! They also make great leftovers for lunch the following day!
Snack: 
Cravings for chocolate sucked that first night! During your challenge you should limit dairy products. For me to stay on track with this program though I found that if I ate greek yogurt at my worst sweet craving of the day I was able to overcome it. Here are a few of my favorites. Again, this should be limited but you have to do what works for you to succeed. 
IMG_1768
Day 2:
Majorly missing my coffee this morning.
Breakfast:
-Fiber Drink
-Spark
-three eggs with hot sauce and 1/2 avocado
IMG_1755
Snack:
Meal Replacement shake
Lunch:
-Leftover chicken fajitas on whole wheat tortilla
– 1 cup of strawberries
These are my favorite whole wheat tortillas. I get them at Target or Stracks.
IMG_2852.JPG
Snack:
-Spark
– 1 serving of almonds
-Banana
Dinner:
-Turkey Chili
IMG_1756
Recipe:
1 pound ground turkey cooked and drained
1 1/2 Tbsp garlic powder
1-28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes
1-16 oz can of kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1-16 ox can of chili beans 
1 Tbsp chili powder
1/2 Tsp dried oregano
1 Tsp cumin
Combine all ingredients in crock pot and cook on low for 4 hours. 
Turkey chili was again, picky husband approved and is another great lunch option for the following day! 
Snack:
-1 serving of almonds
-Yogurt
Day three
Breakfast:
-Fiber Drink
-Spark
-3 eggs with hot sauce and avocado
This is one of my go to breakfasts if you cannot tell
Snack:
-Meal Replacement Shake
Lunch:
-leftover turkey chili
-sweet potatoes
Dinner:
Turkey burger lettuce wrap with mustard
FullSizeRender-106
I season my burgers with black pepper and onion powder
Snack:
-1 serving of almonds
-Yogurt
Day 4: 
Breakfast:
-Fiber drink
-Spark
-Three eggs with hot sauce
Snack:
Meal Replacement Shake
Lunch:
-Turkey burger on a lettuce wrap with mustard
-Banana
Snack:
-Strawberries
-Spark
Dinner:
-Brown Rice California Sushi roll
purchased pre-made at the sushi bar from a local grocery store 
-Grapes
Snack:
-1 serving of almonds
-yogurt
Day 5:
Breakfast:
-Fiber Drink
-Spark
-3 Ingredient [NO CARB] banana waffles
[with berries and pure maple syrup]
IMG_1758
Recipe:
Blend 1 whole banana, 2 eggs, and 1 tablespoon of cinnamon in your food processor until you have formed a batter consistency. Place batter in your waffle maker. Serve with fresh berries and pure maple syrup!
These are the same “banana pancakes” all over pinterest which I could NEVER get to flip or cook correctly. The waffles were so quick and easy to make compare to the pancake option! Try them! You won’t be disappointed! 
THESE ARE AMAZING AND HELPED ME MAKE IT THROUGH THIS CHALLENGE!!!! Plus TODDLER APPROVED!
Snack:
-Two hard boiled eggs
-1/2 cup berries
Lunch:
-Shrimp taco lettuce wrap
-1/2 cup sweet potatoes
IMG_1762-2
Recipe:
Sauté  shrimp in 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Sprinkle with your favorite cajun or spicy seasoning. Serve over lettuce wraps or a whole wheat wrap. 
This is one of my favorite chipotle seasonings to use! I know there are probably other options out there that may be better for the challenge, but I found this to be a great option for me!
IMG_1760
Snack:
Meal Replacement Shake
Dinner:
Dinner this day was HARD! It was my first night out to eat since starting the challenge.
-grilled salmon
-side salad
-mixed veggies
I stuck to water while everyone else indulged in cocktails, bread, appetizers, and dessert. It was a hard dinner to get through but I was so glad I didn’t cheat.
Day 6:
Saturday
Even HARDER than Friday
Saturdays were hard for me the entire challenge.
To start, I don’t drink nearly enough water on Saturdays. It’s a busy day at home for me and I honestly just forget to drink it like I do during the week.
Next, my meal times and snack times are always off due to the weekend. 
Breakfast:
Forgot my fiber drink this day
-Spark
-Banana waffles with berries and pure maple syrup
IMG_1764
Snack:
2 hard boiled eggs
grapes
Lunch:
Avocado egg salad on wheat sammich bread<–[from Aldi] with tomato
My husband ate a Digorno pizza for lunch that day, while I ate my avocado egg salad, I would have given anything for a piece of that pizza.
Snack:
Meal Replacement Shake
Dinner: 
Avocado egg salad on lettuce wrap with tomato and a fruit salad
I DONT recommend the avacado egg salad on anything but a good wheat bread. This was so bland with little flavor served this way. 
Snack:
-Celery with 1 tbsp peanut butter
-Yogurt
Day 7:
Sunday
Breakfast:
-Fiber Drink
-Spark
-Banana waffles with berries and pure maple syrup
Snack:
-no snack
Lunch:
-Meal Replacement Shake
Snack:
-banana
-yogurt
Dinner:
-Grilled Steak
-Side Salad
Day 8:
Breakfast:
-Fiber Drink
-Spark
-Banana waffles with berries
Snack :
-Meal Replacement Shake
Lunch:
-2 eggs
-one avocado
IMG_1763.JPG
Snack:
-Fruit Smoothie
Dinner:
-Turkey burger
-Orange
Snack:
-Baked apple with cinnamon
Day 9: 
Breakfast:
-Fiber Drink
-Spark
-3 eggs and avocado
Snack:
-Meal Replacement Shake
Lunch:
-Turkey burger
-Orange
Snack:
-1 serving of almonds
-yogurt
Dinner:
-Banana waffles and berries
Day 10:
Breakfast:
-Fiber drink
-Spark
-Banana waffles and berries
Snack:
-Meal Replacement Shakes
Lunch:
-Buffalo chicken lettuce wrap with avocado and tomato
FullSizeRender-107
Snack:
-Yogurt
Dinner:
-Salmon
-Steamed Broccoli
-Sweet potatoes
FullSizeRender-105
Recipe:
Salmon-
Drizzle 1 Tbsp olive oil over salmon filet. Top with your favorite seasonings
[ in this case  I used my chipotle seasoning]
Bake  salmon wrapped in tinfoil at 375 degrees for 20 minutes or until salmon. 
Woohoo the first 10 days is OVER!!!
Day 11:
Breakfast: 
-Spark
-3 eggs with hot sauce
Snack:
-Meal Replacement Shake
Lunch:
-Buffalo chicken wrap on whole wheat tortilla
Snack:
-Spark
-Yogurt
Dinner:
Banana waffles with berries and pure maple syrup
Snack:
-Celery with peanut butter
-Two deli ham roll ups
Day 12:
Breakfast:
-Spark
-3 eggs with hot sauce
Snack:
-Meal Replacement Shake
Lunch:
-Buffalo chicken wrap with avocado and tomato,
-Yogurt
Snack:
1/2 cup Pinnapple
1/2 cup berries
Dinner:
-Banana waffles with berries and pure maple syrup
Day 13 :
Saturday
Breakfast :
-3 eggs with hot sauce
Snack:
Meal Replacement Shake
Lunch: 
-Buffalo chicken wrap with avocado and tomato on a whole wheat tortilla wrap
Snack:
-3 deli ham roll ups
Dinner :
-BBQ chicken and pickles on a whole wheat tortilla wrap
Snack:
-Yogurt
Day 14 :
Sunday
Breakfast:
-3 eggs with hot sauce
Snack:
-No snack
Lunch:
for the life of me —I cannot remember lunch this day! SO SORRY!!
Snack:
-Meal Replacement Shake
Dinner:
-Buffalo chicken on lettuce wraps with avocado an tomato
– 1 cup strawberries
Snack:
-Celery with peanut butter
Day 15:
Breakfast:
-Spark
-Three eggs with hot sauce
Snack: 
-No snack
Lunch:
-Baked salmon
-1 sweet potato
Snack: 
Spark
Dinner: 
Meal Replacement Shake
Day 16
Breakfast:
-3 eggs
-1/2 avacado
Snack:
-Meal Replacement Shake
Lunch: 
-Buffalo chicken on lettuce wrap with avocado and tomato
IMG_1774
Snack: 
-Yogurt
Dinner:
-Salad
-Sweet potatoes
This was my first dinner out with a group of people at a friend’s house. You always have that feeling in the back of your mind that you don’t ever want to upset anyone by not eating, but I really didn’t want to cheat either! I was so relieved when I showed up and saw there were some healthy alternatives for me to eat ! 
Day 17
Breakfast:
-Spark
-3 eggs
-1/2 av0cado
Snack:
-No snack
Lunch:
-Banana waffles with berries and maple syrup
Snack:
Meal Replacement Shake
Dinner:
-Turkey Burger with Mustard [ no bun ]
-Sweet Potato Fries
Recipe:
Sweet Potato Fries
Peel and slice sweet potato. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Drizzle potatoes with 2 tbsp of olive oil. Sprinkle garlic powder, paprika, and black pepper. Bake 25 minutes or until fries appear to be done. 
Day 18
Breakfast: 
-3 eggs
-Spark
Snack:
-Meal Replacement Shake
Lunch:
BBQ chicken wrap with avocado and tomato
Snack:
-Yogurt
-Spark
Dinner:
– Bake Salmon
-1 cup steamed broccoli
Day 19: 
Breakfast:
-Spark
-Banana waffles with berries and pure maple syrup
IMG_1764
 Snack:
-Meal Replacement Shake
Lunch:
-BBQ chicken and sweet potatoes
FullSizeRender-124
Snack:
-Spark
-1 cup of berries
Dinner:
-Grilled chicken wrap with tomatoes, lettuce, and avocado
Day 20:
Breakfast: 
-Spark
-Three eggs with hot sauce
Lunch 
-Honey mustard chicken lettuce wraps
– 1 Sweet Potatoes
IMG_2794
 
Snack:
-Celery with peanut butter
-Spark
Dinner:
-Shrimp taco lettuce wraps
IMG_1762-2
Snack:
-Yogurt
-Almonds
Day 21:
Breakfast:
-Spark
-2 hard boiled eggs
-Banana
Snack:
-Meal Replacement Shake
Lunch:
BBQ chicken wrap on whole wheat tortilla
Snack:
-Almonds
-Yogurt
-Spark
Dinner:
IMG_1790
Day 22:
Breakfast:
-Spark
-3 eggs and avocado
Lunch:
-Salmon and Sweet Potatoes
FullSizeRender-123
Snack:
-Spark
1 cup berries
Dinner:
Grilled Chicken Salad with cilantro avocado dressing (Purchased at Target as well).
Boathouse Farms dressings are my favorite!
IMG_2858
Day 23:
Breakfast:
-Spark
-Banana waffles with berries and pure maple syrup
Snack:
-Meal Replacement Shake
Lunch:
-Ground turkey tacos on whole wheat shell
Snack:
-Spark
-Celery with peanut butter
Dinner:
-Grilled chicken Salad with Boathouse Cilantro Avocado Dressing
FullSizeRender-125
Day 24:
Breakfast:
-Spark
-3 eggs with hot sauce
Snack: 
1 cup fruit
Lunch:
-Turkey Tacos left over ^ on whole wheat tortilla
Snack:
-Meal Replacement Shake
Dinner:
-Grilled Honey Mustard Chicken
-Steamed Broccoli
That’s it ! The 24 Day Challenge is complete! I lost 11 pounds during the challenge and have gone on to lose 11 more now post challenge totaling 22 pounds since January.

 

But what I gained after those 24 days was so much more.

I gained control. Self esteem. I gained my health. I finally figured out how to lose weight and I lost weight but actually EATING. For the first time I am healthy. I have more work to do and my body is far from perfect but I’m so proud of the results the program has given me and what it has taught me.

 

Post Challenge I still use Spark and Meal Replacement Shakes every day and have been able to maintain my weight as well as continue on with weight loss!
For more information about Advocare please email me at simplyemelia@aol.com ! I’d love to talk to you about this journey!
EXTRA IMPORTANT INFO:
I drank about 10 glasses of water a day during the challenge.
The above information did not include any supplements or vitamins that are included in the challenge due to the fact that you should contact a distributor and get connected with a coach who will help you pick the products that are best for YOU to succeed!
xo,
Kate

Leave a Reply

