Kitchen Remodel + New Shop Add

 I didn’t want to post the kitchen until it was 100% done but hardware and window treatments may be a year down the road.

I blogged this week about the small business shops that are helping us launch our new Simply Emelia space and Linen & Lace shop have arrived!

So what better time to show you our kitchen remodel than with the brand new “kitchen” sign we’ve added to our counter space and also to our booth for you!!

The kitchen has been the biggest transformation [in my opinion]. There were about 5 layers of floor in the kitchen alone. Don’t ask me why??

IMG_3370-3

The ceiling was moldy.

The cabinets were crusty.

It smelled.

We gutted it. Completely.

I knew exactly what I wanted for this space. It started with the ceiling. My husband and family took down the existing ceiling for me as I painted to achieve an old barn, wood, distressed, look onto 150 boards.

IMG_3690

We added off white cabinets and black granite counter tops as well as all new stainless steel appliances + all new windows and dark trim to match the original trim in the front of our house.

IMG_3684

We originally were going to do white subway tile but because our house was built in the 1930’s pretty much nothing is even so we opted for a white mosaic tile with off white grout to blend with the cabinets.

IMG_3688

The kitchen had potential with the original lay out for an eat in area. By opening the floor plan up we’ve been able to utilize the space even more.

IMG_3683

The most recent addition to the room my mom purchased for us at the Hunt and Gather Market.

Our beautiful kitchen island is an old industrial cart that Back Wood Designs transformed by placing a beautiful, hand cut, refinished piece of wood for the top. I can’t take credit for this find–this one absolutely goes to my husband and I love what it does to the space!

Thanks Mom & Hubby!

IMG_3686

So there it is. Our kitchen transformation and our new sign from Linen & Lace shop displayed on our counter top. Get yours now at Antiques on Main in the Simply Emelia booth or at Linen & Lace shop online!

FullSizeRender-131

xo,

Kate

Leave a Reply

